Journey to Minimalism – The Awakening

This past year has been a complete whirlwind. I’m talking heartbreak, find loving again, losing friendships, slightly rekindling old friendships, learning I hate my 9 o 5, and the ever so drastic gaining (happy) weight just to name to name a few of plethora. And through all of these events I’ve accumulated so much STUFF that I realized didn’t have a space in my life anymore. These things also held memories that I no longer wanted to hang on to. I woke up one morning, had a heart-to-heart and decide it was time to let go of it all.


4cf980efc50475513f45bc3af71e25de

Coincidentally that same morning, I came across a playlist on a similar journey I wanted to embark on from one of my favorites on YouTube. Get into Ambrosia if you have’t shes amazing.  Clearly I found myself going “girl yes” to each video. So much of what she was saying was resonating with me entirely too much for me not to do some digging on this lifestyle she was just enjoying. She had a glow on top her beat for gods face, and a certain air around her that seemed so peaceful. It felt beautiful to me. It was what I needed.


And so I began my research and came across these guys. They thoroughly explained what lifestyle I was beginning to embark on.  

theminsminus-500x333

My favorite resources that has helped me start this exciting journey are The Minimalist. They are so dope, I listen to their podcast every morning playing catch up. I read essays on their site before I start my day. Their take on how minimalism will aid the worlds and eventually get my life together is  simply this:

  • Eliminate our discontent
  • Reclaim our time
  • Live in the moment
  • Pursue our passions
  • Discover our missions
  • Experience real freedom
  • Create more, consume less
  • Focus on our health
  • Grow as individuals
  • Contribute beyond ourselves
  • Rid ourselves of excess stuff
  • Discover purpose in our lives

I’ve given myself a year to fully convert to minimalism  and I’m excited to start this oh so needed journey. I’m ready to take on the challenge and more importantly ready for a new reality. Who wants to try it with me? Got any ideas or suggestions? I’m down for inspiration. My first challenge is tackling my closet! Wish me luck!

 

As always shed layers, give light, feel peace.

4 thoughts on “Journey to Minimalism – The Awakening

Leave a Reply

